Current Affairs
Select Date

Sunrisers Hydrabad won their maiden IPL title

Sunrisers Hyderabad clinched the 2016 IPL title by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final. The Hyderabad unit successfully defended 209 runs even after fifties from Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli for RCB. 
•    In a battle between IPL's best batting and bowling line-ups, the Orange Army came up trumps despite initial blitzkrieg from Chris Gayle and Kohli, defending their total of 208 for seven by restricting the home team to 200 for seven.
•    It was David Warner's batting and astute captaincy complemented by some inspirational death overs bowling by Mustafizur Rahaman (1/37 in 4 overs) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (0/25 in 4 overs) that clinched the issue. 
•    Warner, who hit 69, finished second in run-getters' list with 848 runs.
•    The turning point certainly would be the 24 runs that Ben Cutting (39 no and 2/35) got in the final over off Shane Watson's bowling during Sunrisers innings and then came back to dismiss a rampaging Gayle.
•    Gayle (76 off 38 balls) and skipper Kohli (54 off 35 balls) had a scintillating opening stand of 114 in 10.3 overs as it looked like a cakewalk for the home team.
•    Stuart Binny hit Mustafizur down the ground for a six as the equation came down to 37 from 3 overs.
•    But Bhuvneshwar bowled a brilliant 18th over keeping everything in the blockhole as only 7 came off the over.
•    Out of the thirteen team that have played in the Indian Premier League, three have won it twice, while three have won it once each. 
•    The Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Mumbai Indians are the most successful teams in league's history. 
•    The other three teams who have won the tournament are the Deccan Chargers,Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad. 
•    The Super Kings are the only team to have won the tournament and then defended it the next season, winning in 2010 and winning again in 2011. 
•    2008: Rajasthan Royals
•    2009: Hyderabad Dakkn Chargers
•    2010: Chennai Super Kings
•    2011: Chennai Super Kings
•    2012: Kolkata Knight Riders
•    2013: Mumbai Indians
•    2014: Kolkata Knight Riders
•    2015: Mumbai Indians
•    2016: Sunrisers